Free Agent Frenzy: Wayne Ellington signed (423)

Re: Roster Improvement: Free Agents Now and Later?

Postby khmrP on Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:35 am

therealdeal wrote:
khmrP wrote:with this payroll I'd expected mgmt. to cont. adding more 2nd rd scrubs and more cheapo's like Meeks, lucked out with Jamison but after this season I doubt we get another ring chasing vet on the cheap like Jamison.

They won't have this payroll next season. Gasol will be gone either by trade or amnesty, Artest will be gone or he'll have to reduce his pay to nearly nothing. Blake might be gone if we need to shed more money. Morris, Duhon, are all gone for sure.

Bryant 30, Howard 21, Nash 9, and Hill 3.5 are the only ones I think guaranteed to come back. Clark and Meeks come back too at around 3.5 a piece. Jamison back for about 1.5 million. Yes that's basically a full roster's worth of pay, but with Bryant at 30 million that's what it is.

why would Jamison come back? Even with those said players gone, this team would still have one of the highest payrolls in the league, I dont see mgmt. adding any longer term players of any signficance anyways that would affect their 2014 plans. This team is old even with out Pau/Metta and there no way of adding a starting calibre player w/o trading Pau, this team is still limited to the mini MLE at best with those 2 gone.
khmrP

Postby Chillbongo on Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:42 am

They'll go over the cap again, obviously.

Is this the 2nd year in a row? When would we start losing picks, after one more year?

Meeks is on the books for around $1.5M next year already. It's a team option I believe. Metta has an ETO, which I think he exercises instead of being traded. Hopefully we get him for $3M. Clark @ $3-4M. Hopefully Jamison @ $1.5M.

That puts us at $70M for 8 players. Hopefully we can somehow acquire an $8M earning starting SF or PF and then use another $5-8M to round out our bench. We'd have at least 13 players on an $86M payroll.