HDTV Media FAQ & HD Schedule

Postby revgen on Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:49 pm

AG1507 wrote:
revgen wrote:
AG1507 wrote:I'm thinking of buying a new TV and was wondering whether this is true or not: If I don't have cable or satellite tv, and I buy a new LCD TV with a built-in HD receiver/tuner, is it possible to get the local channels (CBS, NBC, ABC, etc.) in HD? From what I've heard, the only way to get the local channels in HD is to buy a HD programming package from a cable/satellite provider but wanted to know if free HD was possible.

Thanks


Yes you can. Go to www.antennaweb.org to see how far you are away from a OTA antenna.


Ok, I typed in my street addy (I'm in SoCal) and found that I am within 27-30 miles of most of the major networks. But on the list of channels, theres a ABC 7.1 and an ABC 7, whats the difference? Also, where would I go to buy an antenna?

thanks for the help


IIRC ABC has a digital channel that shows their Live Doppler 7000 radar image. This might be it.

A good place to find an antenna would be http://www.antennasdirect.com/LR_HDTV_A ... TV+antenna They have a 90 day money-back warranty period.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby dj vitus on Sat Nov 18, 2006 11:07 pm

Ok, I'm completely new to HDTV, so this is a newbie question. Basically, I use my TV mainly to watch DVDs. I do watch Laker games every now and then, but I could care less about games being in hi-def. I just want to know if a DVD would look better on an HDTV-ready TV or will it be just the same on an LCD flat panel or CRT or whatever. I want to know if it's worth the money to get one.
"Why are they blocking out all the good stuff? They let Sarah Jessica Parker's face on TV and she looks like a foot!!"
User avatar
dj vitus

 
Posts: 9413
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:59 pm
Location: Walnut, CA by way of Laaaas Vegas!

Postby revgen on Sat Nov 18, 2006 11:17 pm

dj vitus wrote:Ok, I'm completely new to HDTV, so this is a newbie question. Basically, I use my TV mainly to watch DVDs. I do watch Laker games every now and then, but I could care less about games being in hi-def. I just want to know if a DVD would look better on an HDTV-ready TV or will it be just the same on an LCD flat panel or CRT or whatever. I want to know if it's worth the money to get one.


It depends upon the DVD's you buy.

* Are your DVD's Anamorphic 16:9 Widescreen DVD's or are they Full Frame 4:3?

* Are you're DVD's cheaply produced with a lot of compression artifacts or are they encoded to a single-layer DVD instead of Dual-Layer?

Anamorpic 16:9 Widescreen DVD's look good on HDTV's since the 16:9 aspect ratio fits the HDTV better while looking like a "letterbox" on regular TV's.

Also make sure your DVD's are encoded at high bitrates on Dual-Layer discs. Compression artifacts that you may not notice on a normal TV can show up on an HDTV. Also make sure to get the highest quality versions of the movies you buy. For example Columbia sells "Superbit" versions of their movies that squeeze as much bitrate out of the DVD disc so that the video looks good on a big widescreen TV.

A big HDTV will make your DVD's look better as long as they are the right DVD's.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby revgen on Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:05 am

*bump*

Question #9 has been updated.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby revgen on Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:15 am

*bump*

Added a schedule of upcoming HD games that I'm likely to cap. See Question #15.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby GT1 on Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:57 pm

Can you record Laker games in HD with this?

http://shop2.outpost.com/product/414981 ... IN_RSLT_PG
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby nakiannu on Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:18 am

Just want to say thanks for doin' what you do, revgen! :bow: I don't have an HDTV yet and I had never seen HD footage of a game until I downloaded some of your stuff. WOW!! :man4:
Thanks so much for going to the trouble of sharing these clips man! I watched them many times :jam2:
Image
User avatar
nakiannu

 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:31 am
Location: sacramento, CA

Postby revgen on Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:07 am

nakiannu wrote:Just want to say thanks for doin' what you do, revgen! :bow: I don't have an HDTV yet and I had never seen HD footage of a game until I downloaded some of your stuff. WOW!! :man4:
Thanks so much for going to the trouble of sharing these clips man! I watched them many times :jam2:


Yer Welcome. HDTV really looks the best when watching live-action sports.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby revgen on Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:08 am

GT1 wrote:Can you record Laker games in HD with this?

http://shop2.outpost.com/product/414981 ... IN_RSLT_PG


Only if the HDTV games are on ABC or KCAL-9 and you have an HDTV antenna hooked up to the card.

You won't be able to cap footage from TNT, FSN, or ESPN.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby SmartBum on Mon Jan 08, 2007 11:40 pm

Hey revgen, a question..

How do I update my video card drivers ?

Everytime I open one of your videos my screen goes blank for about 30 seconds. It then comes back on with a really weird coloured screen saying someithng about restarting my computer... :man4: :man4:
Image
User avatar
SmartBum

 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:44 pm
Location: NZ

Postby revgen on Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:17 am

SmartBum wrote:Hey revgen, a question..

How do I update my video card drivers ?

Everytime I open one of your videos my screen goes blank for about 30 seconds. It then comes back on with a really weird coloured screen saying someithng about restarting my computer... :man4: :man4:


1) Are you running VLC Player?

2) What video card do you have?

Manufacturer? Chipset? Model?

Or if you can go to Start-->Control Panel-->System-->Hardware Tab-->Device Manager-->Display Adapters and see what's listed there.

3) Also, are you running Windows XP?
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby SmartBum on Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:32 am

revgen wrote:
1) Are you running VLC Player?

2) What video card do you have?

Manufacturer? Chipset? Model?

Or if you can go to Start-->Control Panel-->System-->Hardware Tab-->Device Manager-->Display Adapters and see what's listed there.

3) Also, are you running Windows XP?


Yeap I am running VLC player.

I have Intel(R)82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller.

Yeap its the one that came with the PC.
Image
User avatar
SmartBum

 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:44 pm
Location: NZ

Postby revgen on Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:45 am

SmartBum wrote:
revgen wrote:
1) Are you running VLC Player?

2) What video card do you have?

Manufacturer? Chipset? Model?

Or if you can go to Start-->Control Panel-->System-->Hardware Tab-->Device Manager-->Display Adapters and see what's listed there.

3) Also, are you running Windows XP?


Yeap I am running VLC player.

I have Intel(R)82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller.

Yeap its the one that came with the PC.


Well that's your problem right there.

Here's a rule that everyone should understand.

1) Integrated graphics chips are evil.

They are cheap and not designed for use with demanding multimedia apps. I suggest you get an ATI or NVIDIA chipset videocard and install it into your PC. You can find one at Best Buy or Fry's. It doesn't have to be too fancy. It can be a recent one at a cheap price. It should handle the high def video without any problem.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby SmartBum on Tue Jan 09, 2007 2:26 am

Oh ok thanks for the help I don't know anything about computers so oh well i'll just keep with the card I got lol.
Image
User avatar
SmartBum

 
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:44 pm
Location: NZ

Postby GT1 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:03 am

Hey, can you record regular TV with Firewire?
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby GT1 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:03 am

Cause I can buy the card and the cables if ya, I will try HD too though.
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby revgen on Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:46 am

Yes. You can cap regular tv too as long as it's not copy-protected. These are usually broadcast channels like CBS, ABC, FOX, KTLA, etc.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby GT1 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:41 pm

Aight so what card do you recommend to buy? and I'm gonna need some long cables, lol, the cable box is prolly about 20/25ft away.
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby revgen on Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:53 pm

Well first check to see if your PC has a IEEE-1394 Firewire port on the back.

Image

A firewire port looks like the white port in the pic above.

If you don't have one then you can look here for different cards at different price points. http://www.newegg.com/ProductSort/SubCa ... d-On-Cards

Or you can head over to Fry's and buy one. You live in Valley so you should be close to the one there. Speed shouldn't matter as HDTV data doesn't go any higher than 38 mbit/sec.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby GT1 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:12 pm

It doesn't have one, that's what I meant by card, I live like 30 secs away from Circuit City (Victory and Woodman) so I'm gonna go there. What about the cables?
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby revgen on Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:26 pm

GT1 wrote:It doesn't have one, that's what I meant by card, I live like 30 secs away from Circuit City (Victory and Woodman) so I'm gonna go there. What about the cables?


Here's a 25 ft one. It needs to be a 6 pin one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812149012

I dunno if they sell 'em at circuit city. They might sell them at Fry's.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby GT1 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:44 pm

revgen wrote:
GT1 wrote:It doesn't have one, that's what I meant by card, I live like 30 secs away from Circuit City (Victory and Woodman) so I'm gonna go there. What about the cables?


Here's a 25 ft one. It needs to be a 6 pin one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812149012

I dunno if they sell 'em at circuit city. They might sell them at Fry's.


yea circuit didn't have ****. I'ma go to fry's tomorrow. Anyways this is great way to capture stuff in high quality man, and cheaper than buying capture cards too, why doesn't everyone do this?
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby revgen on Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:13 pm

GT1 wrote:
revgen wrote:
GT1 wrote:It doesn't have one, that's what I meant by card, I live like 30 secs away from Circuit City (Victory and Woodman) so I'm gonna go there. What about the cables?


Here's a 25 ft one. It needs to be a 6 pin one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6812149012

I dunno if they sell 'em at circuit city. They might sell them at Fry's.


yea circuit didn't have ****. I'ma go to fry's tomorrow. Anyways this is great way to capture stuff in high quality man, and cheaper than buying capture cards too, why doesn't everyone do this?


They probably don't know how. I can't blame them either. I had to do a lot of tinkering with drivers and software before I could get it.

BTW what digital cable reciever model do you have?
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

Postby GT1 on Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:18 pm

Time Warner HD-DVR
User avatar
GT1

 
Posts: 1320
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:58 pm
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Postby revgen on Sat Jan 20, 2007 11:19 pm

GT1 wrote:Time Warner HD-DVR


Hmm... It might be a Motorola model. Hopefully it'll work with the drivers from the AVS forums. I use the non-DVR model. Also, keep in mind that you may have to record them live. Pre-recorded programs might be DRM'ed by the reciever.
"Every time he’s hurt, he always plays, he always comes through."

- Metta World Peace on teammate Kobe Bryant
revgen
HDTV/Multimedia Guru
 
Posts: 21718
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Southern California

PreviousNext

Return to Lakers Multimedia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Advertise Here | Privacy Policy | ©2008 Sculu Sports. Come Strong.